“The Commission is managed by a board of six Moroccans and six resident Americans who all serve without compensation. Board Members are appointed respectively by the Moroccan Minister of Foreign Affairs and the American Ambassador to Morocco, both of whom serve as Honorary Co-Chairs of the Commission board. The board meets several times each year to set policy and review Commission activities. They also serve as a selection committee to interview and select candidates.”


  • Mr. Nasser Bourita, Moroccan Minister of Foreign Affairs, African Cooperation and Moroccan Expatriates
  • Mr. Puneet Talwar, Ambassador, U.S Embassy Morocco


  • Mr. Amine Bensaid, Chair (2013), President, Al Akhawayn University, Ifrane
  • Mr. Wail Benjelloun, Treasurer (1988),  Mohamed V University-Agdal, Rabat
  • Mr. Yassir Touhami, (2014), Global Head of Content & Editorial, Intellectual Property & Science, Thomson Reuters
  • Mr. Hassan Mekouar, (1988), Professor (ret.), English Dept., Faculty of Letters, Rabat
  • Ms. Nadia El Hnot, (2018), Director of the Cooperation and the Cultural Actions, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, African Cooperation and Moroccan Expatriates
  • Mr. Mohammed Tahiri, (2019), Director of Higher Education and Pedagogical Development, Ministry of Higher Education
  • Mr. Nicholas Barnett, Vice Chair (2023), Public Affairs Officer, PAS, U.S. Embassy, Rabat
  • Ms. Nitza Sola-Rotger, Vice Treasurer (2022), Cultural Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy, Rabat
  • Mr. Gary Butzbach,  (1993), Director (ret.), American Language Center, Rabat
  • Ms. Julianne M. Furman, (2006), General Manager, Polydesign System, Tangier
  • Ms. Jennifer Rasamimanana, (2021), Director, Tangier American Legation Institute for Moroccan Studies (TALIM)
  • Elisabeth Vanness, (2023), Resident Country Director – Morocco, International Republican Institute