Macece board

The Commission is managed by a board of six Moroccans and six resident Americans who all serve without compensation. Board Members are appointed respectively by the Moroccan Minister of Foreign Affairs and the American Ambassador to Morocco, both of whom serve as Honorary Co-Chairs of the Commission board.
The board meets several times each year to set policy and review Commission activities. A sub-committee of the board is responsible for the screening and selection of candidates.
The J.William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, a Presidentially-appointed committee of twelve, establishes general policy guidelines and oversees the final selection of all grantees. In addition, the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, U.S. Department of State (ECA) and MACECE are assisted in the administration of the program by the following co-operating agencies: The Council for the International Exchange of Scholars (CIES), the Institute of International Education (IIE), The International Research & Exchanges Board IREX and AMIDEAST.

Honorary Co-Chairs

David Fischer, U.S. Ambassador to Morocco

Mr. Nasser Bourita, Moroccan Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

Moroccan Board Members:

  • Mr. Wail Benjelloun,  President (1988), Mohamed V University-Agdal, Rabat
  • Mr. Yassir Touhami, Treasurer (2014), Global Head of Content & Editorial, Intellectual Property & Science, Thomas Reuters
  • Mr. Hassan Mekouar, (1988), Professor (ret.), English Dept., Faculty of Letters, Rabat
  • Mr. Amine Bensaid, (2013), President, Al Akhawayn University, Ifrane
  • Ms. Nadia El Hnot, (2018), Director of the Cooperation and the Cultural Actions, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation

American Board Members:

  • Mr. Brian George, Vice President (2017), Public Affairs Officer, PAS, U.S. Embassy, Rabat
  • Mr. Gary Butzbach, Vice Treasurer (1993), Director (ret.), American Language Center, Rabat
  • Mr. Steven Weeks, (2018), Assistant Cultural Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy, Rabat
  • Ms. Julianne M. Furman, (2006), General Manager, Polydesign System, Tangier
  • Mr. John Davison, (2014), Director, Tangier American Legation Institute for Moroccan Studies (TALIM)
  • Ms. Carrie Monahan, (2017), Deputy Resident Country Director, MCC, Rabat